Herbal Names

herb baby names

     Hello and welcome to Apotheca’s second post!  I decided to do a post on Herb baby names because of my other passion… nutrition!

Ladies

     Rosemary – Creeping back into popularity but still outside the top 500. This beautiful vintage name will wear very well.

     Cassia – An ode to the scientific name for Cinnamon. A very brave choice with some more conservative nickname options like Cass and Cassie.

     Majoram – Also set for a comeback with it’s vintage flair but currently outside of the top 1000. Is it just me or is the nickname Margie starting to sound fresh again?

     Caraway –  I just love this one so much! I think Cara is such a great nickname!

     Saffron –  A bold choice. I honestly couldn’t picture this as a name but when I saw the character on Firefly with this namesake I changed my mind.

     Verbena – This one has the option for such wonderful nicknames like Bena and Vera!

     Angelica – A little frilly but very feminine and vintage.

Gents

     Sorrel – This just does it for me. I can’t explain it. It must work because it is similar to Soren, and Seren, two of my favorite name!

     Hawthorne – Although it elopes literary images it also stands for the medicinal herb.

     Sage – Yes, this could also work for a girl but I really like it for a little boy or man as well. I think it ages well (sage wisdom).

     Coriander – An unlikely choice but Cory and Andy are both possible nicknames so it works in my book.

     Clove – This is just a hop, skip and a jump from Clive that it still works and is quite refreshing.

     Basil – The European pronunciation of course! Bas is a cute nickname.

     Thyme –  I would love to see a little baby boy with and old man face named this! Ty is the perfect modern nickname.

Leave a comment